Grawemeyer Award in Religion

The Grawemeyer Award in Religion is made possible by the creative generosity of the late H. Charles Grawemeyer. Louisville Seminary, jointly with the University of Louisville, awards the $100,000 prize to honor and publicize creative and significant insights into the relationship between human beings and the divine. The award also recognizes ways in which this relationship may inspire or empower human beings to attain wholeness, integrity, or meaning, either individually or in community.

2019 Winner: Robert P. Jones

White Protestantism has dominated U.S. politics and culture for much of the nation’s history, but demographic change and an exodus from churches by the young are bringing the era to a close.

That prediction comes from Robert P. Jones, founder and chief executive officer of Public Religion Research Institute (PRRI), who has won the 2019 Grawemeyer Award in Religion for his book, The End of White Christian America. Simon & Schuster published the work in 2016.

University of Louisville and Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary jointly give the religion prize.

America is no longer mostly white and Christian, Jones found. Although 54 percent of the U.S. population met that description in 2008, the number fell to 45 percent in 2016. The election two years ago gave Republicans political control of the country but also signaled a “death rattle” for white Christian America, he said.

Jones also explained an affinity between white evangelical Protestants and President Donald Trump in his book, noting Trump “cast himself as the last chance for Republicans and conservative white Christians to step back from the cliff, to preserve their power and way of life.”

White Protestants, particularly white evangelicals, must find their place in a new America or face challenging internal and external consequences, he warned.

“Jones well describes the decline of mainstream Protestantism many of us are seeing in our churches and theological institutions,” said Tyler Mayfield, an associate professor of Old Testament at the seminary who directs the religion award. “He also offers an appropriate critique of how mainline Protestants have failed to address racism even though they have been a public voice for racial justice.”

PRRI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that conducts independent research at the intersection of religion, culture and public policy. In 2016, The New York Times Review of Books called Jones’ book “possibly the most illuminating text for this election year.” Read the full biography of Robert P. Jones.


Grawemeyer Religion Award Nominations are invited from religious organizations, appropriate academic associations, religious leaders and scholars, presidents of universities or schools of religion, publishers and editors of scholarly journals. Self-nominations are be accepted or considered. There is no discrimination based on religious affiliation or belief or lack thereof. Previous winners are not eligible for subsequent awards.

Click here to view the Grawemeyer Award eligibility information.

Click here to get the 2020 Grawemeyer Award nomination form.

For more information, contact Dr. Tyler Mayfield.
Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary
1044 Alta Vista Road
Louisville, Kentucky 40205-1798
Telephone: (800) 264-1839
Fax: (502) 894-2286

Or see for more information.

Past Grawemeyer Award in Religion Winners

E.P. Sanders
Jesus and Judaism

John Harwood Hick
An Interpretation of Religion: Human Responses to the Transcendent

Ralph Harper
On Presence: Variations and Reflections

Elizabeth A. Johnson
She Who Is: The Mystery of God in Feminist Theological Discourse

Stephen L. Carter
The Culture of Disbelief: How American Law and Politics Trivialize Religious Devotion

Diana L. Eck
Encountering God: A Spiritual Journey from Bozeman to Banaras

No Winner

Larry L. Rasmussen
Earth Community, Earth Ethics

Charles Marsh
God’s Long Summer: Stories of Faith and Civil Rights

No Competition

Jürgen Moltmann
The Coming of God: Christian Eschatology

James L. Kugel
The Bible As It Was

Miroslav Volf
Exclusion & Embrace: A Theological Exploration of Identity, Otherness, and Reconciliation

Mark Juergensmeyer
Terror in the Mind of God: The Global Rise of Religious Violence

Jonathan Sacks
The Dignity of Difference: How to Avoid the Clash of Civilizations

George M. Marsden
Jonathan Edwards: A Life

Marilynne Robinson
Gilead: A Novel

Timothy B. Tyson
Blood Done Sign My Name

Margaret Farley
Just Love: A Framework For Christian Sexual Ethics

Donald W. Shriver, Jr.
Honest Patriots: Loving a Country Enough to Remember Its Misdeeds

Eboo Patel
Acts of Faith: The Story of an American Muslim, the Struggle for the Soul of a Generation

Luke Timothy Johnson
Among the Gentiles: Greco-Roman Religion and Christianity

Barbara D. Savage
Your Spirits Walk Beside Us: The Politics of Black Religion

Leila Ahmed
A Quiet Revolution: The Veil’s Resurgence from the Middle East to America

Tanya Luhrmann
When God Talks Back: Understanding the American Evangelical Relationship with God

Willie James Jennings
The Christian Imagination

Susan R. Holman
Beholden: Religion, Global Health, and Human Rights

Gary Dorrien
The New Abolition: W.E.B. Du Bois and the Black Social Gospel

James H. Cone
The Cross and the Lynching Tree